The Birthday Gift

By Lauren V. Macaraeg

My friend gave me a #Birthday gift the other day. She said, “Sabi ko kay Lord kanina, gusto kita bigyan ng gift kaya lang wala akong pera today. Sabi sa akin ni Lord, ‘Bigyan mo siya ng gift para alam niyang na-appreciate mo siya.‘” [“I told the Lord earlier that I wanted to give you a gift, but I don’t have money today. The Lord told me, ‘Give her a gift so she knows you appreciate her’”]. She apologized to me because her gift was just a simple one. I didn’t know whether to smile or cry.

IMG_20160305_004530.jpg

It reminded me of the story of the poor widow who gave a gift that was small in men’s eyes but big in God’s eyes. I’ve had more elaborate or expensive surprises in my lifetime, during past birthdays and even when there was no special occasion, but this cute gift is just as precious to me as the others. It touched my heart in a special way. So thank you 🙂

“Jesus looked up and saw the rich putting their gifts into the offering box, and he saw a poor widow put in two small copper coins. And He said, “Truly, I tell you, this poor widow has put in more than all of them. For they all contributed out of their abundance, but she out of her poverty put in all she had to live on.” (Luke 21:1-4)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

