Foot Filosophy: Christmas in Summer

By Lauren M.

Thanks to my ankle sprain & Rick Astley, I understand the meaning of Christmas more deeply this summer :p Huwaaat?! Yep. Here are #FootFilosophy thoughts I’ve had while I’ve been forced to slow down:

IMG_9309

  1. I’m thankful for the people in my life. Earlier this year, I’ve grown to appreciate that my family & friends want to be with me, which I used to take for granted. Now, my sprained ankle is helping me appreciate the effort that a lot of people have made over the years just to be with me. Strangely, I’m flooded with memories. Memories of relatives, friends & churchmates in the US making me hatid-sundo so I could join them in family gatherings, Bible studies and even “wala lang” bondings, especially when I was sickly (& I was cranky pa because I used to want to be “independent” & hated needing help from others lol). Memories of high school & college barkada literally going out of their way or offering to meet up in convenient venues or giving each other rides so we could hang out. Memories of my Dgroup girls helping push my mom’s wheelchair & helping us to carry things & to get a cab when my mom had a fracture. Now that I have a foot injury, I’m making new memories with friends whom I can literally lean on while I can’t walk properly. Di naman kailangan. I don’t ask or expect everyone to do it. But many of you did it voluntarily. You all know who you are. All I can say is, “Thank you for the grace” 😀
  2. I’m thankful for Christmas. Learning to appreciate the effort people have made to be with me helped me appreciate better that Jesus left all the splendors of heaven to go down to this beautiful, but sorta grubby planet Earth, just to be with us. He didn’t have to, you know. Di naman kailangan. But He did it because He wanted to be with us. It reminds me of Rick Astley’s “Together Forever” song: “And don’t you know I would move heaven and earth to be together forever with you.” Thank You to the great Emmanuel, God with us!
  3. I’m thankful for my feet. Grateful that my feet can literally touch the ground, now that I’m sure it’s just a sprain, not a fracture. I’m thankful for past & future adventures my feet & I have walked & will walk into.
  4. Some injuries need time and rest to heal. We cannot put a band-aid on all wounds. And I’m not just talking about physical injuries. We need to acknowledge how hurt we are to begin to heal.
  5. “Be still, and know that I am God.” (Ps. 46:10). If we won’t stay still, God will sometimes make us still. Not to harm us, but just to give us time with Him – to rest and to heal and to simply enjoy His presence. Captive audience hahaha!

I’m limiting my activities while my foot is healing. I hope you understand if I can’t go to places where I need to walk far for now. Gaya ng sabi ni Rick Astley, “So don’t stop me falling, it’s destiny calling.” Wherever your feet take you this weekend, I wish you all a fantastic one… together, forever! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

