The Unexpected God: The Piece of Me I Didn’t Know I Needed

By Lauren M.

God comes to us in unexpected forms, moves in our lives in unexpected ways, and asks us to respond in unexpected ways. And I don’t always like that. Because it could mean that our whole world – and even our very selves – could be turned upside down and inside out.

Image

Caiaphas Station, Walkway Stations of the Cross Exhibit, Bonifacio High Street, Philippines
Maundy Thursday, April 17, 2014

That’s why the Caiaphas station at the Walkway exhibit had a strong impact on me. I realized that I have my own “carefully constructed view of the world” and “pre-conceived ideas of how God should work” in my life. I learned that I have a hard time accepting it when the Lord allows my own views – of life, of other people, and even of my very self – to crumble down. Maybe that’s one of the reasons why I sometimes try to run away from God without realizing at first that that is what I’m doing.

But I also learned that the very views and ideals that I treasure could actually come between me and the Lord. And at the end of the day, Jesus is more important to me than my dreams.

My prayer is that, from this point onwards, I will learn to trust God or at least begin to try. May He Himself continue to open my eyes to His truth.

I don’t know what the future holds. But I do know that my Lord’s ways are higher than our ways and that His thoughts are higher than our thoughts (Isaiah 55:9). And I know He loved us enough to die for us.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3:5-6)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

